Welcome to Glassfancy

A whole lot of fused glass and then some …

Brand New Handmade Cocktail Ring

Handmade Art Glass and Sterling Silver Cocktail Ring

I finally managed to finish a new jewelry piece recently.
It’s been much too long since I had the time and motivation to make anything truly new.
I have a couple more pieces that came out of the kiln along with this one but they all still need a little work and so I cannot show them to you yet.
It is not very often that I make rings and this cold-worked fused art glass cocktail ring is quite the rarity for me.
The colorful and very eye-catching glass piece sits on top of a sterling silver ring, which is adjustable to many different sizes.
I am now working on a matching pendant and I am pretty sure that both will end up in my personal jewelry box rather than in my Etsy store. But there will probably be more like this piece in the near future.

Handmade Art Glass and Sterling Silver Cocktail Ring

Handmade Art Glass and Sterling Silver Cocktail Ring

February 16, 2012 - Posted by | Fused Glass, GlassFancy Jewelry | , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Hi, could you please tell me if I am able to purchase the blue and green cocktail ring? If so, do you post to Australia?
    Thank you
    Kind regards
    Joy

    Comment by McBobbin | August 23, 2012 | Reply

  2. Hi Joy,
    Sorry my response took so long. I have been bad and haven’t been paying much attention to this blog in a while.
    Anyways, about the ring ….
    I fell in love with this ring and I decided to keep it. So, it’s not for sale. Sorry! =(
    But I appreciate that you are browsing through my blog and also for taking the time to leave a comment! =)
    Thanks and cheers!
    Kim

    Comment by Kim | August 28, 2012 | Reply

    • I can see why you fell in love with it, it’s soooooo beautiful. How did you make this ring, do you know of any websites or books that could teach me this jewellery making technique?

      Comment by McBobbin | September 20, 2012 | Reply

      • I started with a pretty generic book on basic glass fusing. It was so generic that I don’t even know which one it was anymore but you can find hundreds of them on Amazon or other book stores. From there, it’s just a matter of trying and experimenting to be able to translate what ideas you have in your head.
        If you do better with classes, I’m sure you could probably find someone in your area that teaches it as well. If you find a local glass supplier or fusing studio, they may even rent out their work areas and kilns so you can try before buying all the stuff yourself.
        It’s such an awesome medium to work with, it’s really worth the time and effort to learn!

        Comment by Kim | September 21, 2012


Leave a comment