Welcome to Glassfancy

A whole lot of fused glass and then some …

Beauty is in the eye of the beholder

It has been a long time since my last post.
I finished the semester and despite the fact that I had some health problems and ended up in the hospital smack in the middle of almost midterm time, I managed to do really well in the classes I took.
Now I finally have a little bit of time to play with glass again and that called for a new line of furniture knobs and pulls.
I was really attempting to do something that looks distinctly different from the ones I had done in the past and so I went with the tack fusing technique.
The first ones I did were all based on the principle of a bright solid color on a black background and are full of contrast and very bold looking.

Then I started thinking about maybe trying this pattern on a light background with transparent glass and that is when things turned out a bit funky.

Personally, I did find, they border on ugly but when I asked my husband, he said they would probably look OK when you see them on a piece of furniture. So, I went and took some pictures of them on my entertainment center and I have to admit, he is somewhat right, but not entirely.

At this point, I really wasn’t sure what I thought about them anymore. I was stuck looking at them all the time but actually seeing less and less.
So, I put the question to the people of Facebook and the Zibbet forum. I asked for brutally honest opinions. I did get some comments from people who didn’t like them and I was most impressed with that. I think it’s always easier to leave positive feedback than negative and I appreciate these people chancing some kind of bad reaction since sometimes “your honest opinion” doesn’t necessarily mean that.
I also got a lot of positive feedback (which I, obviously, appreciate as well!!!) and some very interesting thoughts.
All in all, this made me realize how different something can look to different people. I used to think that everybody sort of sees the same color, for example, but some simply prefer something that looks lighter or darker etc. Now, I wonder whether different people actually see something entirely different based on their brains interpreting the visual information in a completely different manner.
I think this is so very fascinating that I wish I could do some kind of actual experiment. I wonder whether there already is some scientific study on that.
Well, now that I am almost entirely off topic, I will close my ramblings by thanking everybody that took part in my opinion poll! It was very interesting and helpful and it resulted in me listing the knobs that I would have otherwise just throw into a dark corner of my ‘dungeon of glass’.

June 19, 2011 - Posted by | Fused Glass, GlassFancy Knobs & Pulls, Zibbet | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a comment