Welcome to Glassfancy

A whole lot of fused glass and then some …

Home is not a place, home is a feeling

Stained Glass at the Gedaechtniskirche in Berlin

This is a painted rendering of a photo I took a couple of years ago. It shows the stained glass window of the Gedaechtniskirche in Berlin, Germany.

Unless the blizzard that we had here in the north-east continues to cause problems, I will be on my way to Berlin, Germany tomorrow.
I have not been there for two years and it’s definitely time to see my mom and the rest of the family. If I ignore the tremendous dislike I feel for overseas flights, I am actually really excited to be home again.
I miss the “old world” atmosphere and architecture, to be back in a city setting and the subway! It sounds odd, I know, but I really miss the subway.
I’m going to have plenty of “real” bread and “real” cheese and I’m crossing my fingers that at least some of the Christmas markets are still left. There is simply nothing like walking around in the icy cold, looking at booths of cool candles, beautiful scarves and other neat stuff and continuing to refill your Gluehwein cup until you can’t feel the cold anymore.

I hope you all are going to have a great and happy New Year and I will be back in 2011 with more blog posts!

December 27, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

