Welcome to Glassfancy

A whole lot of fused glass and then some …

Mixed message

The way I create my fused glass pieces is sometimes a bit odd.
At times, I fuse a whole lot of pieces to fill up the kiln and then about half of them go into a box and I don’t look at them again until a couple of week or months later, depending how much time I have.
It mixes things up a little bit and a lot of times I totally forget about the pieces in the box and it’s fun to rummage through it and rediscover them.

So, I rediscovered one piece this way and it’s sending me a bit of a mixed message.
It’s a large piece because I intended it to be cold worked so that it has distinct edges and a perfect rectangular form.

I make a lot of pendants because pendants are an easy piece of jewelry to wear and because a lot of my designs have a vertical tendency. Brooches, on the other hand, have a more horizontal tendency in my opinion and somehow that doesn’t come natural to me.
This piece, however, could really be both, a pendant or a brooch and I have trouble deciding.

So, what do you think: vertical pendant like in the first photo or horizontal brooch like in the second photo?
Which one is it?

October 31, 2010 - Posted by | Fused Glass, GlassFancy Jewelry | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 Comments »

  1. I completely prefer the one on the left, it just makes more sense to me the way the sizes graduate as you go down the piece. And if you were to do the brooch I would flip it 180. But alas that is only my opinion, interested to see what everyone else says. Carolyn

    Comment by Carolyn | October 31, 2010 | Reply

  2. Pendant, definitely! I like the way the circles fall better that way!

    Comment by Diane Ballum | October 31, 2010 | Reply

  3. I think that you could where a brooch vertically as well as horizontally. If someone was to where it on a lapel of a jacket, a vertical would work really well.

    Sandra

    Comment by Sandra Jimmo | October 31, 2010 | Reply

    • You’re right! I think you could definitely wear brooches vertically, however, with larger glass pieces it becomes more stable and less wobbly if the pin runs horizontally. Plus, I usually have transparent areas, which limits the positioning of the pin. It looks kind of crappy if you can see the pin through the glass.

      Comment by Kim | October 31, 2010 | Reply

  4. So as of right now, the general vote is for the pendant. But we’ll see if we get more opinions.
    Thank you guys so much for commenting!!!!

    Comment by Kim | October 31, 2010 | Reply

  5. I think you should find a way so you could wear it either way. Is that possible?

    Comment by wendy harrington | December 25, 2010 | Reply

    • Unfortunately, I wouldn’t know how to make it so you can wear it both ways.
      I guess one way would be to drill a hole in the middle and construct some kind of turning mechanism but that is beyond what I can do =)

      Comment by Kim | December 26, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

