Welcome to Glassfancy

A whole lot of fused glass and then some …

(O)Mega Banana Breakfast Shake

According to my last blood work, I have managed to reduce my total cholesterol to well within normal range (wooohooo!). I do, however, still need to increase my good cholesterol. So I exercise and make sure I get plenty of omega-3 fatty acids.

I usually add some Flaxseed to most of my green smoothies but the following recipe for a yummy and very filling breakfast shake has an extra large load of it.
I use beveri Golden Flaxseed that I buy at my local store. It comes already finely milled and is convenient and easy to add to all kinds of recipes. But there are many other companies that offer all kinds of flaxseed products that work just as well.

This recipe makes approximately one liter of (O)Mega Banana Breakfast Shake but the ingredients can be halved to make less.

  • 1 cup of milk, soy milk, rice milk, almond milk, or any kind of other milk you prefer
  • 2 heaping tablespoons of flaxseed
  • 1 apple
  • approximately 2 in. of whole pineapple
  • 2 bananas

Depending on how ripe your fruit is, you will likely not need any sweetener but it can be added to taste.
Include the core of the pineapple if you have a Vitamix® machine. Eliminate the core if you think your blender can’t handle it.
Add all liquid ingredients first. If you have a Vitamix® machine, use the usual “turn machine on and quickly increase speed to Variable 10, then to High” instructions. Blenderize until you have a smooth consistency.

Enjoy!

October 30, 2010 - Posted by | Healthy Stuff | , , , , , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. […] In order to put some Christmas into health food or maybe the other way round, I modified my (O)mega Banana Breakfast Shake recipe to stimulate the taste buds with some holiday spices. Turns out that one of these spices, in […]

    Pingback by Healthy Gingerbread Breakfast Shake Recipe « Welcome to Glassfancy | December 11, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

