Welcome to Glassfancy

A whole lot of fused glass and then some …

Pure retro-ness right out of the kiln

At the moment, I am very much lacking in the time department. Between work, my husband’s business and the college class I am taking, I am spread very thin.
The little bit of time I spend in my “dungeon of glass” is stolen from my college class and I have trouble really enjoying it because the whole time I am thinking: “I should really be writing my lab journal right now.”

Nevertheless, I finally managed to fuse the load of glass that has been very slowly accumulating in my kiln for more than 3 weeks.

I was trying to develop something like a line of retro-looking fused glass pendants. The idea is taken from a pendant that I made a couple of years ago and that really stuck in my mind.
The design has fine silver geometrical patterns at two different depths and, in my opinion, it looks great no matter what color you put around it.
Below you can see the deep layer of fine silver circles peeking through.

I have to apologize but I am showing you the pieces exactly how they came out of the kiln because I am honestly not quiet sure when I will have the time to finish them.

And now I will finish writing my lab journal! =)

October 14, 2010 - Posted by | Fused Glass, GlassFancy Jewelry | , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 Comments »

  1. I know what you mean, my new job has left me with no mental creativity, and next to no time either. I miss my glass!
    Here is to a whole weekend of glass time, even though I will have to wait two more weeks for it. Hope you find more time soon too!

    Comment by Carolyn | October 15, 2010 | Reply

  2. I know! It’s sad!
    But just think, you have something to look forward to!
    I told my husband that I feel really old lately and that must mean that I have reached retirement age. Unfortunately, that didn’t work =)

    Comment by Kim | October 15, 2010 | Reply

  3. Even though they are just out of the kiln, they still look fabulous to me! I have been following your work for a while now and I just love it. I also make fused glass jewelery but with dichroic glass. I really appreciate your dungeon of glass comment because my space is our laundry/storage room and I really have a hard time going down there when it is so beautiful outside. I also work full-time and have a family, my son is involved in a lot of sports, so we are on the road quite a bit hence the time to play with glass seems to be few and far between. I really enjoy your posts and will be looking for more 🙂

    Sandra

    Comment by Sandra Jimmo | October 16, 2010 | Reply

    • Thank you so much, Sandra!!! That is so nice!!!

      You know, I was just looking at this French retreat with metal clay classes http://www.zefrenchconnection.com/2009/08/france-retreat.html. If they would have something like this for glass crafts, it could possibly be THE perfect vacation. Dedicated glass time in a beautiful surrounding with good food and fun people! I don’t think there is anything better!
      I will let you guys know if I find anything like it.

      Thank you so much for your comment and for reading my posts! I very much appreciate it! =)

      Comment by Kim | October 16, 2010 | Reply

  4. Gorgeous, as I have come to expect from everything of yours. I find your work inspirational as I get started in this medium (I’m a wood guy for the most part).

    On the time. I feel your pain. full time job, 5 hours a day commuting (not exaggerating, I live 70 miles from my office), chores on the weekends, Have to spend time with the wife in the evenings, and our pups. Plus I have to watch College Football on Saturdays in the fall. I need a vacation just to get caught up. 🙂

    Kaiser Glass offers classes in Greensboro NC (which is pretty nice) but I think they revolve around a couple specialties (glassclay, etching, etc.). I’d prefer finding something in an area like Ashville NC, or somewhere else in the mountains.

    Comment by Mike Shue | October 20, 2010 | Reply

    • Oh wow! Thank you!!! I’m very honored! =)

      I snoop around in the Bullseye Forums every once in a while and I did remember reading something from Kaiser Glass, so I took a peek and it turns out that they are posting for classes on that forum: http://www.bullseyeglass.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=16. I don’t know if there is anything else on there that would help with what you are looking for.
      They have an awesome technique section on that site. I don’t actively post but I stumble across a lot of interesting things just browsing.

      I thought I had it bad driving an hour to work every day! I can’t imagine driving more than double that. I would probably go through almost one book on tape every day, hehe.

      I checked out your website (http://www.russianwolfwoodworks.com) and LOVE the pens you make, especially the “old style”-looking ones.
      I remember my dad had one that looked similar with an ink reservoir that needed filling from an ink pot. He dipped the tip into the ink and turned the end of the pen to suck it up. It was almost a ritual and added such a cool flair!

      Thank you so much for commenting and sharing! =)

      Comment by Kim | October 20, 2010 | Reply

      • Oh I take a train, but it’s still a long commute, I don’t think I could handle driving it for very long. Especially in DC traffic.

        Comment by Mike Shue | October 20, 2010


Leave a Reply

