Welcome to Glassfancy

A whole lot of fused glass and then some …

Fused Glass Cabinet Knobs and Pulls

My kitchen needs help.
It’s been softly whimpering for years but my husband and I are very good at turning a blind ear towards these kinds of things.

Upon entering, at the time we bought the house, the first thing that would come jumping for your face like an alien face hugger was the pink counter top. Well, to be correct, people informed me that this color was called ‘salmon’. You know, the kind that was the latest fad in the 1950s.
We did away with the fish colored eye insult but since neither of us have even the smallest inclination of the home-maker kind, a lot of other stuff has been ignored until now.

I picked out a muted yellow paint for the walls and the bucket of spackle stands ready.
The biggest problem is the cabinets. They are very plain and I don’t think there is much that can be done to rescue them other than maybe adding some cool knobs and pulls.

So, we have now finally arrived at the main motivation for this blog post!

I have started fusing some trial knobs and despite the fact that I still have to refine their overall shape a bit, I am very pleased with the first samples.
These first three will be roughly square-shaped but I definitely have to try some round ones as well.

Although it will be quiet the pain to shape the fine silver inclusion into vines and leaf shapes, I could not resist trying it since it seems more of a kitchen motif.
But I am also very partial to bubbles in glass and it would be a lot easier, given that I will have to copy the design about 25 times.

The next step will be to find some nice and preferably low price hardware for the knobs. On first glance, they seem to be quiet expensive.
If anybody has some suggestions on knob and pull hardware, I would appreciate you sharing.

September 12, 2010 - Posted by | Fused Glass, GlassFancy Knobs & Pulls | , , , , , , , ,

5 Comments »

  1. I know, those knobs for fusing are around $6 a piece. I was thinking of looking for regular ones at home depot or maybe the clearance part of restoration hardware and find a plain type knob that you could glue glass to are work backwords depending on what you find. Good luck!

    Comment by Carolyn | September 12, 2010 | Reply

    • Hmm, that is about what I saw when I glanced through things on the net. But personally, I find $6 entirely unexceptable and there is no way I will pay that.
      I think your idea with Home Depot or other hardware stores is really promising though. Just by quickly looking on their website I already found one knob that is about $2 and may work great (http://www.homedepot.com/h_d1/N-5yc1vZ1xgk/R-100355285/h_d2/ProductDisplay?langId=-1&storeId=10051&catalogId=10053). Of course, it would be better to look at it in person.
      I am going to do some more research and will let you guys know what I find.
      Thank you for your input and the good idea! =)

      Comment by Kim | September 12, 2010 | Reply

  2. […] Some time ago I started experimenting to come up with fused glass cabinet knobs and pulls. (You can read the post about it HERE.) […]

    Pingback by Colorful Fused Glass Cabinet Knobs « Welcome to Glassfancy | November 27, 2010 | Reply

  3. Wow so nice colorful fused Glass Cabinet knobs. Modern kitchen design has improved partly as a result of ergonomic research. Please keep sharing more and more information….

    Comment by Cabinet Pulls | January 6, 2011 | Reply

    • Thank you! And I will =)

      Comment by Kim | January 6, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

