Welcome to Glassfancy

A whole lot of fused glass and then some …

I start the kiln and melt for you! Part 3

In the past, I have not made very many pairs of fused glass earrings and when I thought about why, two reasons popped in my head.

1. Making one pair of earrings is like making two pendants. (I know that you all know that a pair means two but bear with me.) The glass pieces might be slightly smaller than a pendant but there is not very much difference in material used or time spent.
Consequentially, the price for earrings should be higher than the price for a pendant. Actually, it should almost be double.
Unfortunately, I believe people would perceive this as overpriced.

2. In my somewhat compulsive thinking, the two pieces of a pair of earrings had to be exactly the same. And when I say ‘exactly’, I mean ‘EXACTLY‘!!!!

I am not sure why, all of a sudden, I felt that I needed to make a couple of pairs of earrings but when I started my color combo approach, I planed in a few dangles.
For some reason, the two pieces didn’t have to be EXACTLY the same this time either. It was obvious to me now that the charm of handmade jewelry is very much based on “imperfections” and it defeats the purpose to create things that look so perfect, a machine could have created them.
I am not sure why it took so long for me to understand that. I did always know about that principle and it applied to other people’s creations but somehow it did not sink in regarding my own work until very recently.

Anyways, here are two pairs:

They have been added to my Etsy store and hopefully the earring category is going to fill out a bit more in the future.

Let me know what you think please! I always welcome comments and suggestions as well as critique!

June 27, 2010 - Posted by | Etsy, Fused Glass, GlassFancy Jewelry | , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Hi Kim – just found your blog through a link from Masters Glass.

    Not only am I very impressed with your work, I’m absolutely blown away by your photography! Please will you pass on some tips about how to achieve such clear bright images? What camera do you use? How do you light the shots? You are a “master” at this without question – please will you pass on some of your knowledge to us lesser mortals, who are driving ourselves carzy trying to get anywhere near your quality.

    Here’s hoping!

    Comment by Tim | July 7, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

