Welcome to Glassfancy

A whole lot of fused glass and then some …

More Earrings! This Time in Pink!

I started this project with a sketch that was a bit different from the end product. I imagined an asymmetrical form of silver that cradles the round fused glass cabochons while, at the same time, exposing half of the glass on both sides so the light can do its magic.
Here is the doodle:

I started forming the silver. After putting everything together I realized that, since the two sides are so different, they weigh different and therefore the earring would hang totally crooked if I hang it the way I planed.
Hmmm!
Now I could have either offset the hanging point to balance the form and disrupt the vertical line or just pretend that I meant for it to be crooked. The third choice was to turn it 90 degrees and make it symmetrical.
As you can see below, I stuck with the third choice and I am very happy with the decision.

March 20, 2010 - Posted by | Fused Glass, GlassFancy Jewelry, Precious Metal Clay | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. they are lovely… love your work

    Comment by Christine Calabria | March 21, 2010 | Reply

    • Thank you, Christine! =)

      Comment by Kim | March 21, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

