Welcome to Glassfancy

A whole lot of fused glass and then some …

The First Precious Metal Clay and Fused Glass Pendant in the New Year

Happy New Year, everybody! And welcome to 2010! May this new year be a happy, healthy and successful one for you all!

I finished the necklace I want to show you yesterday already but then it got too late for the post, it was time to celebrate and my hands had to hold drinks instead of type.

So here it is! I’m quiet happy with the design. I am still not 100% satisfied with my PMC working skills. But practice makes perfect and I’m intending on getting there one day.
The feel of the piece is once again organic and flowing. I didn’t realize that I was as influenced by the Art Nouveau style as I seem to be but I just love the curves and soft bending lines that you can produce with Precious Metal Clay. It’s very strange because it is so opposite the way I think in glass.
I chose shades of blue for the glass pieces once again because the patinaed silver and the glass in that color sooth and contrast each other at the same time. I just love the way it looks!
This time I tried to pull the silver and the glass together even more by stopping the Liver of Sulphur patina at the stage where it has a blue tinge. You can see the effect close to the glass pieces in the recesses.

I am always looking for comments that help me improve my work; design wise, technique wise or any other wise. So, I very much appreciate critique or suggestions, especially if you are familiar with Precious Metal clay.

January 1, 2010 - Posted by | Fused Glass, GlassFancy Jewelry, Precious Metal Clay | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

