Welcome to Glassfancy

A whole lot of fused glass and then some …

The last of the Cremation Memory Pendants

A couple of years ago I used to have a website where I sold pet cremation pendants or memory pendants.
They were made from the same glass I use on all my jewelry but contained a very small portion of ashes or cremains.

I have to admit, the cremation pendants were not my idea. A colleague at work made me develop a pattern because she wanted something special for her cat that had just pasted. I believe she had looked around on the internet and found someone who fused ashes into glass and since she knew that I was fusing glass, she came to me with the request.
It took me more than four months to come up with a pattern that would reliably yield the same results pretty much every time (I would say about 95% of the time) and still display the ashes in a way that looked nice.

Then, about a year ago, I finally decided to shut down the website and stop selling the cremation pendants. The main reason was that I just couldn’t deal with asking  people for money anymore at a time when they had just suffered a great loss. It always felt so petty, greedy and entirely inappropriate.
The whole thing was just very stressy and emotionally draining.
For the past year I had still made some for friends and colleagues (basically people that I know and that I wouldn’t ask for money anyway) but it’s time now for me to altogether stop making cremation pendants. The emotional drain is still there and maybe even more than with animals I didn’t know and I realized that I am starting to really dread making them.
So these are the last of the cremation pendants. They are in memory of Ali’s “Sunshine”.

 

If you are looking for glass pet cremation pendants, here are two websites I found:
http://www.memorypendants.huffmanstudios.com/
http://www.solsticeglass.com/hand-blown-glass-jewelry/pet-cremation-jewelry/view-all-products.html

December 23, 2009 - Posted by | Fused Glass, GlassFancy Jewelry | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

