Welcome to Glassfancy

A whole lot of fused glass and then some …

Love at First Firing

RCGr0782So I assume, it happens to every artisan periodically. You identify and sympathize with every piece you create, but every once in a while there is one piece that is special. You open the lid of the kiln after the firing (in the glass fuser’s case) and your reaction is: <in a deep voice> “Hello, gorgeous!!!” Well, maybe not exactly like that, but you get my point.

Recently, that is what happened to me when I first saw the fused glass piece I call “Moon Shadow”. It’s funny because when it happens, I immediately know the right name for it too. No brainstorming required and when I’m stuck in the naming process, I don’t have to tell my husband that it’s probably not a good idea to call a fused glass piece “Bob” (I’m just kidding. He is usually very good at helping me back on the right track).

Moon Shadow 2I took all the photos I need of it, yet, I haven’t been able to bring myself to list it in either one of the marketplaces I use. It seems, it wants to stay with me, at least until the next time I open the kiln and find love at first firing.

June 1, 2009 - Posted by | Fused Glass, GlassFancy Jewelry | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. It’s gorgeous! Keep it for yourself!!

    Comment by steiderstudios | June 2, 2009 | Reply

  2. You should keep it then. You already bonded and it really is beautiful!

    Comment by Jules | June 2, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

