Welcome to Glassfancy

A whole lot of fused glass and then some …

Montauk Props Hunt

Ever since I started selling my products online, I have been struggling with photography of said items. It’s been a steep learning curve for me. I have looked at so many great photographs of other people’s products and bit by bit tried to figure out what makes them great and therefore, what it is mine are missing. Lighting, angles, cropping, close-ups, and and and…

One aspect I have particular problems with is the props. A lot of my products are contemporary or modern in style, which really limits my choices of background to something either very plain or modern as well. Usually, when it’s time to take some product photos, you see me rummaging through the house for possible useful items. A lot of times it’s quiet frustrating.

MontaukOne of my very good friends finally had a great idea. Let’s go to Montauk and pick out cool stones!

Montauk is the very tip of Long Island and has some steep cliffs and a very rocky beach. It’s a beautiful place and absolutely perfect if you are looking for interesting stones.

So off we went. It was a beautiful day, although still a little cold and quiet windy. We must have looked a bit odd, hauling stones and if the lighthouse ever slips into the sea, it’s probably our fault. But, hey, it’s all in the name of art!

Thank you, Suzanne, for a great day and a marvelous idea!

I finally got to use my new props today and I thought it would be interesting to see ‘before’ and ‘after’ photos of the same item. So, I present to you, the metamorphosis of the “Emerald City Fused Glass Pendant”:….

BEFORE

BEFORE

AFTER

AFTER

April 15, 2009 - Posted by | GlassFancy Jewelry, Photography | , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Ugh, I liked! So clear and positively.
    Have a nice day
    Bodyc

    Comment by Bodyc | April 27, 2009 | Reply

  2. Hi, good post. I have been pondering this topic,so thanks for sharing. I will certainly be coming back to your blog. Keep up the good posts

    Comment by With This Diet I Shed T h i r t y P o u n d s in Only a Month | May 6, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

